Style Me Pretty

2 May

I love fashion but I focus mainly on clothes and there is more to an outfit than just clothes.  To completely style an outfit you must also consider accessories and makeup which I am often guilty of neglecting. I was reminded of this while reading a recent post from The Beauty Department about styling jewelry and makeup together. I forgot how much you can add to your style with makeup and accessories. Part of the reason I don’t use them much is because I can sometimes be low maintenance. Accessories are one more thing to remember when getting dressed in the morning and too many can overpower my small frame.  I prefer to keep things simple with small earrings and maybe one small statement piece and I believe less is more when it comes to makeup.

I have a love/hate relationship with makeup. Whenever I do wear it I keep it minimal so it looks natural and because I am a little lacking in makeup skills. I don’t like to use full coverage makeup daily because it is unnecessary and women should feel just as beautiful without it. Although lately I’ve let myself get so comfortable in my own skin I stopped wearing makeup all together. But I am reinstating my daily regimin after questions began to rise concerning whether I get enough sleep since my fair skin is prone to revealing under eye circles. I tend to use makeup to feature a certain area which is usually my eyes. I think eyes are very flattering and it is what people focus on when communicating to you. So my routine mostly consist of concealing under the eyes, a base to even out my eyelids, and curled lashes with mascara. This brightens my eyes and helps me to look more awake if I just rolled out of bed for an early class. If I feel a little daring I’ll add some eyeliner, especially if my outfit looks mod.

That’s the fun part about make up and accessories they can really change the feeling of an outfit. A smokey eye creates a very different styling than clean crisp winged liner reminiscent of past eras. Zooey Deschanel recently appeared in People magazine without any makeup and talked about her signature style stating, “I love dark eye makeup. It’s stylized and evokes a certain era”. I also like to create vintage looks when I get playful with my makeup going for fuller lashes and white liner on the lower lid popularized in the 60s. My favorite pairing from the Beauty Department’s article is the art deco necklace with bold eyebrows and retro liner. The various makeup tips I find on their website is making me more conscious of incorporating it into my styling. How do you like to pair makeup and accessories with your daily style?

Leave a comment